Another Pleasant Surprise

Today I got word that another of my stories has been accepted for publication. My story, After Hours, will be published in Rocking Horse Publishing’s Spirits of St. Louis: Missouri Ghost Stories anthology. The book should release sometime in mid-October. I will be sure to share all the pertinent details when things are finalized.

That period is actually likely to be busy and challenging as far as promotion goes, because if all goes well, Fauxpocalypse will also be released in that time frame. I’m sure everyone will get tired of hearing me talk about those books, so I’ll try not to overdo it.

I’m starting to “worry” that I’m making too much of a habit of getting stories accepted. Of fiction stories that I’ve submitted and heard back on, I am currently at three out of four accepted. I feel like at some point the hammer must drop and I’ll have nothing but a dispiriting string of rejections. That’s how it’s supposed to happen, right? I still have three submissions pending response, so I guess we’ll see how those go.

My submission schedule has slowed down a lot recently. Some of it has been due to editing work on Fauxpocalypse, some of it because of summer activities, and some of it just because I haven’t prioritized it. I need to get back in my groove, but with all the short story success, I’m wondering if I should change gears and focus hard on a novel effort at this point. I’m still a little undecided there, so I need to make up my mind soon. I do recognize that while I enjoy writing them a lot, short stories are not likely to be the avenue to writing success that I would like.

For now though, I’m quite enjoying seeing things come to fruition and accomplishing my early stage writing goals. Hopefully I can keep it up.

Leave a Reply

