Return from the Forest

It’s been a while since I posted. I know, and I’m sorry. BUT! I had a pretty awesome experience in the interim. This weekend three friends and I went on a two night backpacking trip in Shawnee National Forest in southern Illinois. Everything went quite well – better than I expected – and I had a great time. I’ll drop a couple of pictures, because everyone loves pictures, right?

IMGP7057

Here’s our little group on the morning of day one. We hiked about half a mile in the night to get to this spot, which was quite fun.

IMGP7070

I think this picture best gives an idea of the scale of these rocks. If you look close, way back in the distance, you can see one of our packs resting against a tree.

The scenery was amazing, and we saw plenty of local wildlife, to include battling armies of ticks and almost stepping on a possibly poisonous snake. So, that at least covers my lack of activity for a while, right?

In serious other news, I have been heavily invested in peer editing work on Fauxpocalypse. We have been working through editing the stories one at a time, and it has been consuming almost all of my free “writing” time. It’s been rewarding though, and I really do want to make sure it’s the best product we can put out.

If you’ve been following or are interested in Fauxpocalypse, or any of Misha’s other projects, he has taken the big step of incorporating as a small publisher called Bold Fortune Press. I am excited for this. More small publishers, especially in my local area, can only be a good thing. I’ve been trying to aid his efforts as much as I can to help the endeavor find the success it deserves.

The wife is back to work now as well, which means earlier mornings, which means not so late nights, further cutting into my available time. I actually missed an open call deadline recently, with my story languishing at a half-finished draft one. I still plan to finish it, as it should make a decent sci-fi story that I can pitch to multiple venues. I’m also considering re-purposing it for use toward another open call by the same publisher. If I don’t do that, I have another story that I need to write from scratch in short order for that call.

I also have grand designs on finishing my novel project at or around year’s end. My co-author has balked at this, but I’d like to at least try. That’s a strange situation for me, because to do so, I’ll have to tone down or probably completely stop the short story writing I’ve been doing. Not sure how I feel about that, but I guess it will all work itself out somehow.

No word yet on any other writing submissions.

Leave a Reply

